failure number one

February 7, 2008

I had intended to write a piece about who I am, why I’m here, what I plan to do with this space – where I want to be, when I get to the end point.

spilled_milk.jpg

No matter.  I still have the words and ideas in my head, and partly written down, and I will expand on it tomorrow.

What is important, is that I am writing now.  I did not follow through with my plan today, because I once again I spent too much time consuming, rather than creating.

No matter.  No sense crying over it.  Because, in a sense, I did follow through with my plan – I wrote *something* – and I learned something.

Fail early, fail often.  I know how to make this work.  I have already laid out a daily schedule for myself, to make this work, and I have consistently failed to follow it for a month.  Rather, I have taken the easy route, spent evenings reading the work of others, rather than creating my own.

I don’t know how to do trackbacks yet, or a lot of other stuff.  I have not made an “About” page or anything like that.  But I will flesh this out as I go.  This is a learning experience for me, and I will learn quickly.

No matter.  I will get better at this.  I will fail, again and again, but I will improve.

Now where’s that dishcloth?

7 Responses to “failure number one”


  1. Trackbacks happen when you link out to another site – we see it and come over to see what is going on.

    Feel free to ask us for help while you learn and get your WP set up.

    Two things you need right now:

    Subscribe to Comments plugin, because if you respond to this comment, I’ll never know about it otherwise and never be “reminded” to come back.

    A black font for your text to make it easier to read. The pale green on white is a real challenge.

    If you need help with either, drop Harry or me an email. 🙂


  2. @James: Green on white? Dude, I’m seeing gray. Brett? What color is it?

  3. brettlegree Says:

    @ James – so it sounds like I did it correctly then. Well, that is good!

    And thank you very much for your offer of help, I’ll definitely take you up on it.

    I had a quick look for the Subscribe to Comments today (while at work, bad Brett!), and couldn’t seem to find it. Is it not available for the free WordPress stuff, I wonder? If so, I’ll really be making the jump to a hosted blog quickly because I can’t stand being crippled in that way. I’ll have a look again tonight, but if you know please let me know.

    Hmm – the text is just the default for this theme and WordPress, unless something got messed up in translation.

    This is possible because I often write in those full screen text editors (I use q10 & Darkroom on my PC, and Writeroom on one of my Macs, pretty much depending on how I feel). These should just be plain text files but it is coloured.

    I think I’d better investigate. I just started using Windows Live Writer yesterday (it seems pretty cool for this stuff), so I’ll see how that goes with my next post.

    In the mean time, I’ll see if something is screwed up with what I’ve already posted.

    What browsers & OS are each of you using?

  4. joohliah Says:

    For what it’s worth, for me it’s definitely grey ! (OS X, macbook, safari)

  5. brettlegree Says:

    Jooliah – thanks for the “colour check”!

    I really need to get a Mac as well – or, at least, a modern one.

    I have two 1999 vintage machines for testing purposes, but I’d like to make a Mac my primary machine.

  6. joohliah Says:

    I love Apple, I just do… I’ve been working on Mac for 7 years now, and I just couldn’t work on anything else now.

    Please don’t tell my husband you have vintage macs or he’ll come buy them from you 😛

  7. brettlegree Says:

    Yes, don’t tell your husband then, I have two Powermac G3 B&W’s and I love them. They are real workhorses for me – but, too slow compared with my laptop.

    I figured I’d wait until 10.5 was out and stable, and then I’d jump to a Macbook Pro (I’m a snob and I used to use a Ti Powerbook at work – I love the silvery finish!!!)

    So I’m saving my money for the fall… 🙂


Leave a Reply

