It’s alive, IT’S ALIVE!

February 6, 2008

Henry Frankenstein: Look! It’s moving. It’s alive. It’s alive… It’s alive, it’s moving, it’s alive, it’s alive, it’s alive, it’s alive, IT’S ALIVE!

frankenstein-jj-001.jpg

I thought that this was more appropriate than a simple “Hello world”.  I am here because of the encouragement of many – family, friends near and far, co-workers good and bad.  I am here because I am changing my life.

And I am here because I have decided to “do it now”.  I have spent far too much time in a perpetual planning phase.  Nothing will ever be perfect.  The time is now.

So here it is, nuts and bolts and all.

It might not be pretty, but it is here – it is out there, finally.

And now it can’t be stopped…

(PS – I do *NOT* look like this before my morning coffee.  Honest.)

4 Responses to “It’s alive, IT’S ALIVE!”

  1. joohliah Says:

    Hi Brett.

    I landed here from Naomi’s blog, and I am touched by your honesty here. I have been putting off writing a blog for a while now (it’s mostly designed, I even have some unpublished posts…), and reading this makes me want to lauch it right now.

    I won’t because it’s almost midnight here, and I will most probably write something that would put an immediate end to my public image and my whole career. But I promise I will do it soon and I’ll keep you posted 🙂

    Congratulations on the new blog. Thanks for the kick in the butt. And you’re right, it will never be perfect. The most important thing is that it exists.

  2. brettlegree Says:

    Hi Jooliah,

    Thank you very much for coming here to visit, and thank you for your words of encouragement!

    It took me a very long time to make the jump and just do it, and I was like you, I had a lot of ideas, unpublished posts, and a basic design in my head.

    Then one day I just figured “today is the day” – the sooner I get started, the sooner I can realize my dreams.

    Thanks again for your words, and you are welcome. If my doing this has helped just one person (you!) to get started, then that has made my day.

    You will do it, too, with your blog. Just get out there and do it! I’ll be watching for it, as I’m sure it will have all kinds of cool stuff on there.

    PS – I really like the Zooliahs, they are awesome!!!

  3. joohliah Says:

    Thanks for your Zoohliah enthiusiasm, I really appreciate it 😀 I’m currently working on new unique ones, before I get to the second pattern… I’ll keep you posted 😉

    And yes, your post helped me realize that it’s best to do something even if it’s not perfect, rather than doing nothing at all for perfection’s sake…

    So I’m cleaning up the mess on my blog, and opening soon, I promise. If I don’t open by the end of this week, just come and virtually kick my butt 😉

  4. brettlegree Says:

    You are welcome! I was looking at them again last night… I thought my sister might get a kick out of one too. I’ll have to send you an entire week’s pay to cover all of the orders…

    I’ll look forward to seeing your blog – but don’t worry, I wouldn’t kick your butt, even virtually – you are much too nice for that! I’ll just check back in and ask when it is ready. 🙂


Leave a Reply

