the bridge.

March 31, 2008

old wooden bridge 290

A bridge is a construction or natural feature that spans a divide.

I started writing at this space not that long ago, and with a lot of hard work and encouragement from many hands, I will continue writing at my new space, 6 weeks.  The divide I am crossing is only a digital divide, but it is an important crossing in my journey, more so I would say than any physical divide I have ever crossed in recent memory.

What lies on the other side is of my making, but it is also of your making too.  As a writer in this medium, I cannot move forward without you, the reader and the commentator.  To you, all of you, I give thanks.

Not only is this post a bridge, but this entire blog has been a bridge for me, between my old life before I started to share my words with the world, and my new life that lies on the road ahead.

And while this bridge may be a digital bridge, rather than a physical one, it is not much different from those we have all encountered in one key way – it required many hands to build it:

Men with Pens – James & Harry, for the blog design and lots of help & encouragement, and the liveliest comments section around.

IttyBiz – Naomi, for introducing me to a lot of these great people, including the dynamic duo above, and for confusing Ron Paul and Ron Jeremy, just one example of your funny and honest writing style that I love.

The Writers Manifesto – Monika, for the inspiring story of how you followed your dreams, the virtual flat whites, and help with the thumbnails – Issue #1 of Fourex Girl is coming!

Write From Home – Amy, for the tireless late night chats and inspiration to think differently about my day job, and the opportunities it presents – the cook says “lady”.

Melissa Donovan – Melissa, for a great chat about freedom & life change, and a picture that is SFW, never mind what they said on Twitter.

Self Made Chick – Christine, for having the courage to quit your job, move into the desert, and follow your dreams – you make me want to do the same… if I follow everything in your book, I cannot fail.  I don’t think I’ll quit my job today though, my wife might get mad at me…

Michael Martine – Michael, for the encouragement to start a test blog – this blog – and for countless other insights.  You are the Remarkablogger.

Put Things Off – Nick, for the awesome Todoodlist book, inspiring words, and your love of paper, which I share.

The Writing Journey – Bob, for laughing at my tubular pigs joke, and for the very encouraging feedback about my writing.

Joohliah – for the lovely slippers, and for creating the Zoohliah – awesome – I still have to buy one!

sushi day – Allison, for the Darth Sushi, the encouragement, and the cool t-shirt… :)

eVentureBiz – John Hoff, charter member of the Tyler Durden fan club and all-around good guy – “Never say NO to Fluffy!”

Maximum Customer Experience – Kelly, for the voodoo dolls – yes, and we know you know nothing about fetishes – say hello to Little Pen by the way.

Life’s Little Inspirations – Wendi, for all of the kind words – we are traveling down the same road, I’m glad to be sharing the journey with you.

Curious Apricot – RJ at Wild Apricot Blog, for the VW Bus that will get all of us across the bridge, you can drive and pick the music!

Steve Pavlina – Steve, who probably doesn’t even know I’m out here yet, but I have to thank him for his words, especially his post on life purpose.

Eyeteaguy – Francis, my long-time friend, for the kick in the butt to start this blog, we need to have a beer.

The Deep Friar – Mike aka “The Friar”, for the DAF nights and “bitch ‘n stitch” lunches at work – keep up the painting.

My family – Cathryn my wife, and my children Cameron, Ian, Aimee, and Owen.  Thank you for filling my days with joy.

And everyone else who has read my words – if I have forgotten anyone who should be here – and I probably have, it is 4:35 am – I will return to add your name to this list.

All of you have contributed in one way or another.  All of you have encouraged me step by step.

And so I ask you to join me, to cross the bridge into the future – 6 weeks into the future.

PS – if anyone knows how to inject a single post from one blog to another one, let me know, as I want to move this post and the last to my new blog.  In fact, I’ll buy the winner a beer if he or she is within 8 hours drive (sub-light speed only)

20 Responses to “the bridge.”

  1. Nick Cernis Says:

    Thanks for the kind words and congratulations on the move, Brett. 6 weeks is looking awesome; I love the name and concept too.

    Everyone head over and subscribe!

  2. brettlegree Says:

    Hi Nick – thanks for the compliments and the congrats, my friend. I’m enjoying Todoodlist very much, BTW – everyone go buy Nick’s book!

  3. joohliah Says:

    Hey Brett, so nice you’re moving forward ! I’ve already followed you to your next home :)

    And thanks a lot for the link, I love my ruby slippers too ;)

  4. brettlegree Says:

    Hey Joohliah – yes I saw that (you were my first comment!), and thanks very much for your words over there.

    I think I might do a “the bridge, redux” over there tonight to put my thank you list there, until I can figure out how to move this, over there… ;)

  5. brettlegree Says:

    Michael – thank you, and you’re welcome! Couldn’t have done it without you.


  6. One word about your new site:

    GEEKED!

    Good form, my friend. Good form.

  7. brettlegree Says:

    Bob – thanks very much for the compliments – I have to pass the thanks on to Harry & James for the design, and the late night help – I couldn’t have done it without them for sure.

    And I couldn’t have done it without encouragement from you, and all of the other people here too. :)


  8. Hi Brett, Congrats on the new site! I’m really excited for you and can’t wait to see how it evolves in the coming months.

  9. brettlegree Says:

    Hi Melissa, thank you very much for stopping by to check it out, and thank you for your encouragement.

    It will continue with stories such as those I’ve written here, as well as introduce some of my own ideas of how to get to where you want to go (assuming you aren’t already there, of course… :) )

  10. Allison Says:

    Thank you, and you’re welcome! Have you gotten the shirt yet? Still working on that Darth Sushi… ;)

  11. brettlegree Says:

    Hello there my friend! Nice to see you here again – I believe that the shirt is actually at the post office (we got a parcel card), so I will have it in time for the weekend.

    I’ll need to find you that Alaska blackfish first, then you can make the Darth Sushi… maybe a road trip for me :)

  12. Amy Says:

    Cheers to you, friend. (Kiss the cook for me, and tell him “lady” says hi. LOL)

  13. wendikelly Says:

    (Clinking the champagne glass high in the air)
    Cheers! congrats! Yahoo!!!!

    Crossing the bridge now to go over to the new site…

    Brett, thank you, We will journey together and the the thanks goes both ways, you have introduced me to some great people, and I am having the time of my life.

    Our dreams will..and are..coming true.

  14. brettlegree Says:

    @ Amy, thank you very much (*raises the ever present coffee mug*) – you’ve been a source of inspiration for me as I’m getting things off the ground (really!)

    The cook will be kissed, in about 55 minutes, and I’ll tell him for sure :)

    @ Wendi: (clinks glass back) thank you for crossing over with me, hope the pic wasn’t too scary when you got there ;) well I know it wasn’t as you subscribed!

    Likewise, I am meeting people via your work and you are teaching me new things – we will get there – we are already on the way.

  15. John Hoff Says:

    Brett it has been a joy to have met you and look forward to our many great references to Tyler Durden as he leads us on our path. hehe

    The new site is awesome! Thanks for the kind words my Canadian friend and fellow family man.

  16. brettlegree Says:

    John, likewise – it has been a pleasure meeting you and getting to know you. Tyler is *the* man… :)

    Thank you for the compliment – the MwP did a great job, now to match the nice site with some nice writing.

    Glad you stopped in today – see you on the other side my friend.


  17. @ Brett — You are officially my favorite starf*cker. Rock on, you crazy Canadian conservative nuclear engineer, you. Rock. On.

  18. brettlegree Says:

    @ Naomi – that made my day :)

    I’ll join your Rock Band any time, baby, because as hard as I rock, you rock harder.

    (I really have to try that game, or Guitar Hero, being a closet metalhead and all)

    Thanks for stopping by to visit the old Canadian conservative nuclear engineer starf*cker…

  19. 6 Weeks Says:

    [...] I may not get the bridge moved over here for a little while, I felt it only right to put my list of “thank yous” [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

