the road ahead.

March 21, 2008

hot wheels - jack rabbit special

The other night my wife and I were laying on the living room floor in front of the fireplace, and our four kids were playing what they call “road”.

They drive little cars up and down all over us, and we listen to them tell stories.

I turned to my wife and said, “this is all I want, this is why I’m taking steps towards working for myself”.

I have written about the small choices we make in life at butterfly effect, how they have far reaching consequences, and the responses I received were encouraging.  Thank you again, everyone.  This is what it is all about.

There are many roads we can choose in life.  Naomi at IttyBiz wrote some time back about watching for the E’s and how the universe will give you a sign.

I honestly don’t hate the road I am on.  I just know I should be driving down a different road.  And I have seen the signs.

I had a great conversation about following your dreams with Monika at The Writers Manifesto, as she told us about her Journey to the Land Downunder.  It is a dream that I also share.

I have the map now thanks to the Men with Pens (thanks so much guys, and thanks for the help offline too – the “real thing” will be here soon, in no small part due to your efforts), and have planned out the journey.  There will be many obstacles, and you know what?  That is okay.  That is part of the fun.  After all, the point is to “fail early, fail often”.  I am filled with excitement.

We are all on this journey together – the journey that is life – and there are many different roads we can take.  The beautiful thing I’ve discovered is how willing people are to share it with you.

It is a pleasure to be sharing it with all of you.  Thank you, each and every one of you.

I look forward to the road we will travel together, just as I look forward to the “road” that my children will build tonight.

My next and final post at this space will be “the bridge”.  I hope that you will join me in crossing it.  I believe that the road ahead will be exciting.

23 Responses to “the road ahead.”

  1. menwithpenz Says:

    Jesus cripes, man, you’re going to make me cry!!

  2. brettlegree Says:

    Hey, I can’t help it. You guys are like my brothers, I look forward to the day we can raise a glass together.


  3. Ha ha, James is cry-ing. (I’m trying to type that in a sing-song snarky voice, but I don’t know how well it’s coming through.)

    I love your story about the toy cars — Jack does that too! one of my favorite parts of the day is 11 in the morning. We all sit down to watch The Price Is Right. We had it on one time and Jack was totally transfixed. He gets so excited when he sees the people on TV clapping and he’ll walk around with his hands in the air like the contestants coming on stage, and it’s beautiful.

    That’s what it’s all about. It’s not about striking it rich or buying a second car (or, in our case, a first). It’s about being there to watch your kid say “vroom vroom” while he drives little plastic cars all over your stomach.

  4. menwithpenz Says:

    Shaddap Naomi. *sulks* I’m in touch with my feminine side. NOTHING wrong with that. Perfectly normal.

    Cripes. Women.

  5. wendikelly Says:

    Ooooooohhhh..

    running toward the bridge….where is it?..how far away?? Are we there yet????
    I’m getting so excited for you!


  6. @ James – Since you’re sulking, it sounds like you are indeed very in touch with your feminine side. ;-)

  7. brettlegree Says:

    @ Naomi – I thought he was crying because I’m going to send him one of my old Powermacs to play with ;) and your typing voice sounded just like that schoolyard sing-song “nah nah nah boo boo” stuff…

    Thanks very much for saying that, you know I can totally see all of you guys doing that (your Jack is a very cute little guy, I love his smile). That certainly is what it is all about, and just wait until your new addition is here, it gets better with more than one.

    We actually just played “road” again about an hour ago, and now the gang has gone for a nap before grandma and grandpa arrive for Easter.

    @ James – (here’s a tissue brother) don’t worry, I cry all the time… I cried when the Terminator got melted at the end of T2 :) and I cried during E.T. – as an adult. (Hey, he was cute.)

    @ Wendi – we’re almost there, you’re right there with me – keep running, keep writing, keep doing what you’re doing.


  8. Love the analogy about your road. Even though I don’t have kids and probably never will I feel the same when John and I are playing with our bird babies.

    They mean the world to us and being able to chill out and see them happy because they can spend time with us is just the best thing.

    You guys will travel the road I have not one single doubt about this at all! Keep hold of your dreams and don’t let anybody ever steal them from you!

  9. thefelinepov Says:

    @James: You’re such a girl!

    Huh…must’ve gotten some dust in my eyes here…windy day in the desert you know…

    @Brett: I got a little misty at the end of T2 myself.

    @Naomi: So this is where you’ve been hiding?

  10. vegasrage Says:

    Ok, I officially hate wordpress.com. Didn’t know it automatically logged me in under another account. How can I make fun of James when the ID on my last comment is pointing to my new project (so shaddup, cats are less girly than crying :P )I have no idea what this comment is going to show up as.

    So…let’s spin the wheel, shall we and see what new ID for Harry comes up as…

    (God, Brett, I’ll be glad when you’re off this board)

  11. brettlegree Says:

    @ Monika, I’m glad you liked it, and it doesn’t matter if you don’t have kids, lots of the people we interact with out here don’t have kids, but all of them “get it”. Knowing what you want and what is important, going after it and staying true to your dreams – that’s what brings us all together.

    It really fits with your idea of “let go”. I absolutely LOVE that and I’ll be using it for a while, if that’s okay (I’ll send money!)

    @ Harry, yeah, no kidding – since I said there’d be only one more post, I don’t want to be a liar so I’ll be getting over to the new blog come hell or high water. This free WP has been fun but just too restrictive.

    Poor Naomi got lost here in the comments for a long time, only by cursing and swearing did it let her out!

    And I love that new project of yours. I’ll be hanging out there too. I’m going to literally have to clone myself, or buy a second computer and learn to type with both hands separately – to write my stuff, hang out at MwP, Monika’s place, Amy’s place, visit Michael from time to time, Naomi… my head’s spinning :)

    Yeah, watch out for that dust, it’s hard on the eyes.


  12. I know I’m coming a bit late to the dance, but I have to tell you how much I enjoyed this post, Brett. Very inspirational stuff.

    I’ve had my share of failures, and I’ve changed course enough to tell you that you’re going about it the right way. It sounds like you’ve got a clear picture of where to go and how to get there. I, for one, look forward to watching it happen.

    OK, my feminine side is calling. I’m off to watch “When Harry Met Sally.”

  13. brettlegree Says:

    Hi Bob,

    Well as they say, better late than never and thank you very much for your compliments.

    Nice to meet you today at MwP and on Twitter, and I really like your blog – I’ll be checking it out closely later today.

    It will be a lot of fun going forward, sharing the journey with great people like you.

    Thanks again for stopping in – Brett

  14. Allison Says:

    I’m waiting for that new blog… *taps foot* :D Seriously, I’m excited to see it and even more excited that I’ll finally be able to subscribe to your feed! So when’s it gonna get here?

  15. brettlegree Says:

    Hi Allison – I figure I’ll just drop it tomorrow some time, and fix anything else that needs to be fixed on the fly.

    Live by my own words:

    “fail early, fail often”

    So you won’t have to wait much longer :)

    Thanks for the nudge!

  16. Allison Says:

    Yay! I can’t wait to see it!

  17. brettlegree Says:

    Hopefully you checked your email! (sneak preview…) ;)

  18. wendikelly Says:

    Brett,

    oh Brett….I have e.mail too….???????
    LOL :)

  19. brettlegree Says:

    Hi Wendi – email me at brett DOT legree AT gmail DOT com if you like ;)I am not sure if I have your home email…

  20. CatherineL Says:

    Hi Brett – I can’t wait until you launch that awesome theme. I must admit i feel a bit of an idiot though.

    I’ve followed your posts on James and Harry’s blog and I didn’t realise you were already blogging – I thought you were waiting for the new theme. Sorry – I’m adding you to my reader now.

  21. CatherineL Says:

    Where is your RSS reader? How do I subscribe? Help!!

  22. brettlegree Says:

    Hi CatherineL – sadly I never set it up properly here, I was working so hard on the other blog… :( but not to worry, it does work on the new site! I’ll be putting the final post up here early tomorrow, with a link to the new site – you’ll be able to get everything that is here, over there too.

    So hang in there! Thank you for stopping by today to say hello.


  23. [...] Not only is this post a bridge, but this entire blog has been a bridge for me, between my old life before I started to share my words with the world, and my new life that lies on the road ahead. [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

