rocks.

March 2, 2008

BalPyramidRockBeach362

The other day at work, a colleague stopped me in the hallway to ask why I was so happy.

I smiled at her and said, “What do you mean?”  She replied that I looked almost euphoric, like nothing could get me down.

I smiled again and said, “Oh, it must be that the sun is shining today!”  In actual fact, it was that and more.  While reading an awesome post about life change at Self Made Chick, I had discovered a video of Steve Jobs speaking at Stanford in 2005, and it may also be found here.  Steve Jobs is a pancreatic cancer survivor.

I had also recently watched a video of Dr. Randy Pausch, who is dying of pancreatic cancer.  Both Randy Pausch and Steve Jobs have faced their own mortality, and yet they have chosen to continue living each day to the fullest, for as long as they are able to do so.

They are rocks, standing up in the face of adversity.

11 Responses to “rocks.”

  1. OH Says:

    Truly inspiring. Thanks for that.

  2. brettlegree Says:

    Thank you very much for your kind words. I am happy to have been able to pass that on to one other person – as it inspired me, so it has inspired you, and perhaps, many more.

  3. John Hoff Says:

    We really do take things for granted, don’t we. And then when something is gone or has passed, it say “I only wish . . .”

    Every once in a while I stop to smell the roses or peek my head out the window to see the sunrise :)

  4. brettlegree Says:

    Hi John,

    That is exactly right. We can sometimes take even the smallest things for granted, a kind word, a thank you (and may I say, “thank you” for stopping by…)

    The small things in life can make all the difference. Everything else is just “stuff”, at the end of it all.


  5. Great post, Brett! I’m going to keep this in mind when I’m feeling down :)

  6. brettlegree Says:

    Thanks, RLD! I watched these videos again today, just “because”. They are truly inspiring, especially (for me) the part where Steve Jobs talks about looking at himself in the mirror each day.

  7. Nick Cernis Says:

    I love the Steve Jobs video. It is one of the two things that motivated me to quit my 9-5 job and start my own business.

    The other was this: a poem from the Howies website. It never fails to help me smile and make me focus on living.

    Thanks for the link to the Randy Pausch video — I’d not seen his Operafied version; what a remarkable and inspiring story!

  8. brettlegree Says:

    Hi Nick,

    I agree with you – things like this have motivated me to change the course of my life.

    Thank you also for sharing the link to that poem. I just read it now, and it is very inspiring. I will definitely keep that around, in fact, I think I will print it out and hang it on the wall.

    Thank you for stopping by today to say hello!


  9. [...] have written on a similar theme before, in my post rocks, but I feel the message deserves further consideration, based on recent events in my life.  If [...]

  10. 6 Weeks Says:

    [...] have written on a similar theme before, in my post rocks, but I feel the message deserves further consideration, based on recent events in my life. If it [...]

  11. Michael Tim Says:

    I love your site! :)

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

